...for a distinguished SCIENCE FICTION or FANTASY BOOK written by a Pacific Northwest author or authors and published in the previous year.

The award represents a collaboration between writers and fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy to encourage the growth of literature in the field and recognize works of excellence. It is named for H.M. Bark Endeavour, the ship of Northwest explorer Capt. James Cook.

The award is announced annually at OryCon, held in Portland, Oregon. The 2016 award was presented at OryCon 38 to Brenda Cooper, for Edge of Dark. The 2017 award will be presented at OryCon 39 (November 2017) for a book published in 2016. The award is accompanied by a grant of $1,000.

Entry Deadline For Books Published During 2017:
February 15, 2018


Arabella of Mars by David D. Levine, Tor Books
Dreams of Distant Shores by Patricia McKillip, Tachyon
Eocene Station by Dave Duncan, Five Rivers Publishing
Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff, Harper
Waypoint Kangaroo by Curtis Chen, Thomas Dunne Books/St Martin's Press


Ginjer Buchanan
John R. Douglas
Andy Duncan